Thunska Pansittivorakul

Thunska Pansittivorakul (Thai: ธัญสก พันสิทธิวรกุล), born October 22, 1973, is a Thai independent film director.


Thunska Pansittivorakul was born in Bangkok in 1973. He graduated from the Department of Art Education, Faculty of Education of Chulalongkorn University. He used to be a columnist of many magazines including Thai:Film Quarterly and a day. His short films, documentaries and feature films were screened in over 100 international film festivals, including Berlin International Film Festival, International Film Festival Rotterdam, Hong Kong International Film Festival, Toronto Reel Asian International Film Festival, etc.

He won the Grand Prize award at The 4th Taiwan International Documentary Festival 2004 for his documentary feature 'Happy Berry'.[1] His 'Heartbreak Pavilion' project won the Top Award from Pusan Promotion Plan (PPP) at The 10th Pusan International Film Festival 2005.[2] In 2007 during Thaksin Shinawatra's regime, he received the Silpathorn Award from The Ministry of Culture's Office of Contemporary Arts, which is awarded to one outstanding artist each year. The past honorees in the field of film include Pen-Ek Ratanaruang, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Wisit Sasanatieng, etc.[3] Thunska is a special instructor at Film Department of Bangkok University. He is currently penning columns for Bioscope magazine. In an interview, he discussed his decision to withhold his films from Thai release: "I decided not to show any of my films in Thailand."[4]


Feature filmsEdit

  • Voodoo Girls (2002)
  • Happy Berry (2004)
  • This Area is under Quarantine (2008)
  • Reincarnate (2010)
  • The Terrorists (2011)
  • Supernatural (2014)

Short filmsEdit

  • Private Life (2000)
  • Love Sickness (2000)
  • ...for Shiw Ping 28/12/97 (2000)
  • Sigh (2001)
  • Chemistry (2003)
  • Unseen Bangkok (2004)
  • Vous vous soviens de moi? (2005)
  • Life Show (2005)
  • After Shock (2005, for Tsunami Digital Short Films project)
  • Out of Control (2006)
  • You Are Where I Belong To (2006)
  • Middle-earth (2007)
  • Action! (2008)
  • Soak (2008)

Music videosEdit

  • Blind Spot (2007, for Soundlanding)


  1. ^ "The 4th Taiwan International Documentary Award winners". Taiwan Documentary Film Festival (Taiwan). 2004-12-17. Archived from the original on 2012-03-17. Retrieved 2004-12-17.
  2. ^ "PPP 2005 Award Winners". PPP (south korea). 2005-10-24. Archived from the original on 2011-07-25. Retrieved 2005-10-24.
  3. ^ "National treasures: Seven contemporary artists are recognised at this year's Silpathorn Awards". The Nation (Thailand). 2007-08-05. Archived from the original on 2007-09-29. Retrieved 2007-08-23.
  4. ^ Hunt, Matthew (2020). Thai Cinema Uncensored. Chiang Mai: Silkworm Books. pp. 67, 183–194. ISBN 9786162151699.

External linksEdit