The Ten-Year Lunch

The Ten-Year Lunch: The Wit and Legend of the Algonquin Round Table is a 1987 American documentary film about the Algonquin Round Table, a floating group of writers and actors in the "Roaring Twenties" in New York City, which included great names such as Dorothy Parker, Robert Benchley, George S. Kaufman, Edna Ferber, Marc Connelly, Harold Ross and Harpo Marx. It was produced and directed by Aviva Slesin and narrated by Heywood Hale Broun.

The Ten-Year Lunch
The Ten-Year Lunch.jpg
Directed byAviva Slesin
Written byPeter Foges
Mary Jo Kaplan
Produced byAviva Slesin
Distributed byDirect Cinema[1]
Release date
March 1987 (1987-03)
Running time
56 minutes
CountryUnited States

The title refers to how the members of the Round Table met over lunch at the Algonquin Hotel from 1919 until roughly 1929. The film shows how the group drifted apart once the 1920s ended, as Hollywood beckoned for some and as they grew older.

The film premiered on the PBS series American Masters on September 28, 1987.[2] On April 11, 1988, it won the 1987 Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature.[3]


  1. ^ Ebert, Roger. "Oscar and "Roger & Me"". Retrieved 2020-04-10.
  2. ^ Missing or empty |title= (help)
  3. ^ "NY Times: The Ten-Year Lunch". Movies & TV Dept. The New York Times. Baseline & All Movie Guide. Archived from the original on 2012-10-14. Retrieved 2008-11-17.

External linksEdit