Tales of the Unexpected (short story collection)

Roald Dahl's Tales of the Unexpected is a collection of 16 short stories written by British author Roald Dahl and first published in 1979. All of the stories were earlier published in various magazines, and then in the collections Someone Like You and Kiss Kiss.[1]

Tales of the Unexpected
First edition
AuthorRoald Dahl
GenreCrimehorrorconte cruel
PublisherMichael Joseph
Publication date
Media typeprint


  1. "Taste"
  2. "Lamb to the Slaughter"
  3. "Man from the South"
  4. "My Lady Love, My Dove"
  5. "Dip in the Pool"
  6. "Galloping Foxley"
  7. "Skin"
  8. "Neck"
  9. "Nunc Dimittis"
  10. "The Landlady"
  11. "William and Mary"
  12. "The Way Up to Heaven"
  13. "Parson's Pleasure"
  14. "Mrs Bixby and the Colonel's Coat"
  15. "Royal Jelly"
  16. "Edward the Conqueror"


Stories from this anthology were adapted to television in the Anglia Television series Tales of the Unexpected (1979–1988).[2][better source needed]


  1. ^ Roald Dahl (1979). Tales of the Unexpected. The first seven stories in this book are from Someone Like You, ... remaining stories are from Kiss Kiss ... All the stories appeared in an omnibus volume entitled Twenty-Nine Kisses from Roald Dahl ... Acknowledgement is hereby made to The New Yorker, Collier's, Harper's Magazine, Esquire, Nugget and Playboy
  2. ^ "Tales of the Unexpected (TV Series 1979–1988) - IMDb".