Story of My Heart

Story of My Heart is the debut studio album by R&B singer Mario Winans. The album was released on June 24, 1997 under Motown Records.

Story of My Heart
Studio album by
ReleasedJune 24, 1997
Studio LaCoCo, Silent Sound, Doppler Studios, D.A.R.P. Studios
Atlanta, Georgia
Vanguard Studios
Oak Park, Michigan
Giant Recording Studios
New York City, New York
ProducerMario Winans, Trackmasters
Mario Winans chronology
Story of My Heart
Hurt No More
Singles from Story of My Life
  1. "Don't Know"
    Released: 1997
Professional ratings
Review scores
Allmusic3/5 stars link

Track listingEdit

  1. "Prayerlude" (Mario Winans) (0:59)
  2. "Every Now and Then" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (4:16)
  3. "Stay with Me" (Mario Winans) (4:32)
  4. "Arouse Me" (Mario Winans) (4:41)
  5. "Don't Know" (Mario Winans, Artie Hoyle) (3:59)
  6. "Love Man" (Mario Winans) (4:34)
  7. "I Wanna Be Your Man" (Interlude) (Mario Winans) (0:55)
  8. "You Never Know" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (3:56)
  9. "Come Back Home" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (4:43)
  10. "My Sweetheart" (Mario Winans) (3:36)
  11. "Don't Know Remix" (featuring Mase and Allure) (Mario Winans, Mason Betha, Samuel Barnes, Jean-Claude Olivier) (4:35)
  12. "It's All Good" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (3:48)
  13. "Don't Take Your Love Away" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (3:45)
  14. "One Last Chance" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (3:57)
  15. "Love Is in the Air" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (5:26)
  16. "Loving Arms" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (3:58)
  17. "Take My Breath Away" (Mario Winans, Kenneth "Hicklo" Hickson) (4:14)


  • Mario Winans: All instruments and drum programming on all songs except "Don't Know (Remix)", executive producer
  • Donyell Boynton: Additional keyboards on "Don't Take Your Love Away"
  • Poke And Tone: Drum programming on "Don't Know (Remix)"
  • Timothy "Tyme" Riley: Keyboards on "Don't Know (Remix)"
  • Brian Smith: Recording engineer
  • Paul D. Allen: Recording engineer, mixing
  • Carlton Lynn: Recording engineer
  • Bryan Frye: Recording engineer
  • Robin Moore: Recording engineer, mixing
  • Alvin Speights: mixing
  • Vernon Mungo: mixing
  • Andre Harrell: Executive producer
  • Edward "Eddie F." Ferrell: Executive producer, A&R direction
  • Perri "Pebbles" Reid: Executive producer
  • Andrew "Sugar Dice" Ramhdanny: Executive producer
  • Herb Powers: Mastering
  • Elli Hershko: Photography
  • David Harley: Art direction, design


  • "Every Now and Then" contains a sample of "Make Me Say It Again Girl" as performed by The Isley Brothers
  • "Don't Know" contains a sample of "With You in Mind" as performed by Acoustic Alchemy
  • "Don't Know (Remix)" contains an interpolation of "A Day in the Life" as performed by Diamond D featuring Brand Nubian
  • "It's All Good" contains a sample of "I'll Be Good to You" as performed by The Brothers Johnson
  • "Don't Take Your Love Away" contains an interpolation of "Westchester Lady" as performed by Bob James
  • "One Last Chance" contains a sample of "Sarah Victoria" as performed by Acoustic Alchemy