Season of Summer (liturgy)

The Season of Summer (also known by various Syriac transliterations such as Kaitha or Qaita) is a liturgical season in the East Syriac Rite of Christianity. The season begins on the seventh Sunday after Pentecost (just after the conclusion of the Season of Apostles) and continues for seven weeks. The Season of Summer has a theme of spiritual harvest, reflecting on the fruits of the missionary labors of the Apostles.[1]

An imaginative depiction of Jesus and an angel as harvesters.

Fridays of SummerEdit

The Fridays of various weeks of this liturgical season are dedicated to various martyrs.[2][3]


  1. ^ de Souza, Rev. Raymond (July 29, 2020). "Syro-Malabar calendar elevates summer feasts". The Catholic Register.
  2. ^ Madhavathu, Maryann (2016). Liturgy as a Sacrament of the Paschal Mystery: A Study of the Theological Relations between the Liturgy of the Eucharist and the Liturgy of the Hours in the Roman and Syro-Malabar Rites (PDF) (Thesis). Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. p. 7.
  3. ^ "Syro-Malabar Liturgical Calendar: 2020–2021" (PDF). pp. 41–49.