National Board of Review Award for Best Documentary Film

The National Board of Review Award for Best Documentary Feature is one of the annual awards given (since 1940) to the producer of the film by the National Board of Review of Motion Pictures.[1]


List of winnersEdit


Year (ceremony) Winner Director(s)
1987 (59th) Hail! Hail! Rock ‘n’ Roll Taylor Hackford
1988 (60th) The Thin Blue Line§ Errol Morris
1989 (61st) Roger & Me§ Michael Moore


Year (ceremony) Winner Director(s)
1990 (62nd) N/A N/A
1991 (63rd) Hearts of Darkness: A Filmmaker’s Apocalypse Fax Bahr and George Hickenlooper
1992 (64th) Brother’s Keeper Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky
1993 (65th) The War Room Chris Hegedus and D. A. Pennebaker
1994 (66th) Hoop Dreams±×§ Steve James
1995 (67th) Crumb× Terry Zwigoff
1996 (68th) Paradise Lost: The Child Murders at Robin Hood Hills° Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky
1997 (69th) Fast, Cheap & Out of Control Errol Morris
1998 (70th) Wild Man Blues Barbara Kopple
1999 (71st) Buena Vista Social Club Wim Wenders


Year (ceremony) Winner Director(s)
2000 (72nd) The Life and Times of Hank Greenberg Aviva Kempner
2001 (73rd) The Endurance George Butler
2002 (74th) Bowling for Columbine Michael Moore
2003 (75th) The Fog of War Errol Morris
2004 (76th) Born into Brothels Zana Briski and Ross Kauffman
2005 (77th) March of the Penguins (La marche de l’empereur) Luc Jacquet
2006 (78th) An Inconvenient Truth Davis Guggenheim
2007 (79th) Body of War Phil Donahue and Ellen Spiro
2008 (80th) Man on Wire James Marsh
2009 (81st) The Cove Louie Psihoyos


Year (ceremony) Winner Director(s)
2010 (82nd) Waiting for “Superman” Davis Guggenheim
2011 (83rd) Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky
2012 (84th) Searching for Sugar Man Malik Bendjelloul
2013 (85th) Stories We Tell Sarah Polley[2]
2014 (86th) Life Itself Steve James
2015 (87th) Amy Asif Kapadia
2016 (88th) O.J.: Made in Americaš Ezra Edelman
2017 (89th) Jane° Brett Morgen[3]
2018 (90th) RBG≠° Betsy West and Julie Cohen[4]
2019 (91st) Maiden Alex Holmes[5]


Year (ceremony) Winner Director(s)
2020 (92nd) Time Garrett Bradley

See alsoEdit


  1. ^ "Best Documentary Archives – National Board of Review". National Board of Review. Retrieved February 2, 2015.
  2. ^ National Board of Review Awards Announced|Hollywood Reporter
  3. ^ National Board of Review Announces 2017 Award Winners < < Rotten Tomatoes
  4. ^ National Board of Review 2018 Award Winners: List in Full|Hollywood Reporter
  5. ^ National Board of Review Names "The Irishmen" the Year's Best Film - Yahoo Entertainment

External linksEdit