Jon Franklin

Jon Daniel Franklin (born January 13, 1943) is an American writer. He was born in Enid, Oklahoma.[1] He won the inaugural Pulitzer Prizes in two journalism categories both for his work as a science writer with the Baltimore Evening Sun.[2] Franklin holds a B.S. in journalism from the University of Maryland.[3] He is currently professor emeritus of journalism at his alma mater; previously, Franklin taught creative writing at the University of Oregon and was the head of the technical journalism department at Oregon State University.[4] He received honorary degrees from the University of Maryland in 1981 and Notre Dame de Namur University in 1982.[2]

The Canadian television film Shocktrauma is based on the book Franklin co-wrote with Alan Doelp.

Working for The Baltimore Sun, Franklin won the first Pulitzer Prize for Feature Writing in 1979, for covering a brain surgery,[5] and won the first Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Journalism in 1985, for a series about molecular psychiatry, "The Mind Fixers".[6]


  • Shocktrauma (1980) with Alan Doelp
  • Not Quite A Miracle (1983) with Alan Doelp
  • Guinea Pig Doctors (1984) with Dr. John T. Sutherland; republished in 2003 as If I Die In The Service Of Science: The Dramatic Stories Of Medical Scientists Who Experimented On Themselves
  • Writing for Story: Craft Secrets of a Two-Time Pulitzer Prize Winner (1986)
  • Molecules of the Mind: The Brave New Science of Molecular Psychology (1987)
  • The Wolf In The Parlor: The Eternal Connection between Humans and Dogs (2009)


  1. ^ Cusick, Daniel "Jon Franklin's Reality Story Archived 2013-10-29 at the Wayback Machine", College Park Magazine,
  2. ^ a b Brennan, Elizabeth A. and Clarage, Elizabeth C., "Jon Daniel Franklin" Who's who of Pulitzer Prize winners, 1999, pg 196.
  3. ^ "Jon Franklin, Professor Emeritus", Phillip Merrill College of Journalism, The University of Maryland
  4. ^ Jon Franklin Archived 2011-10-04 at the Wayback Machine, Science Writing Workshop, Santa Fe, New Mexico
  5. ^ "Feature Writing". The Pulitzer Prizes. Retrieved 2013-10-26.
  6. ^ "Explanatory Journalism". The Pulitzer Prizes. Retrieved 2013-10-26.

External linksEdit