Jay Anson

Jay Anson (November 4, 1921 – March 12, 1980) was an American author whose most famous work was The Amityville Horror.[1] After the runaway success of that novel, he wrote 666, which also dealt with a haunted house. He died in 1980.

Jay Anson
Jay Anson.jpg
Born(1921-11-04)November 4, 1921
New York City, U.S.
DiedMarch 12, 1980(1980-03-12) (aged 58)
Palo Alto, California, U.S.
OccupationWriter, author
Notable worksThe Amityville Horror

His work, The Amityville Horror, was sold as "a true story", and it was based on the reported experiences of George Lutz and Kathleen Lutz at 112 Ocean Avenue in December 1975. The Lutzes had sold the rights to the book to Anson, who had added to and adapted some of the Lutz's original claims. A film was later made of the book in 1979, which exemplified these additions. He died a year later.


  • The Filming of 'Battle of the Bulge' (1965), documentary short, writer
  • Operation Dirty Dozen (1967), documentary short, writer
  • The Moviemakers (1969), documentary short, writer
  • Klute in New York: A Background for Suspense (1971), documentary short, writer
  • The Saga of: Jeremiah Johnson (1972), documentary short, writer
  • Harry Callahan/Clint Eastwood: Something Special in Films (1975), documentary short, writer
  • Lumet: Film Maker (1975), documentary short, writer
  • Urban Living: Funny and Formidable (1975), short, writer
  • Martin Scorsese: Back on the Block (1973), documentary short, writer
  • The Hero Cop: Yesterday and Today (1973), documentary short, writer
  • The Dangerous World of 'Deliverance' (1972), documentary short, writer
  • On the Road with: Scarecrow (1973), documentary short, writer
  • The Amityville Horror: A True Story (1977), novel
  • 666 (1980), novel


  1. ^ "George Lutz, 59, Who Found Horror in Amityville, Dies (Published 2006)". The New York Times. May 11, 2006. ISSN 0362-4331. Retrieved February 15, 2021.

External linksEdit