Chief of Chaplains of the United States Navy

The Chief of Chaplains of the United States Navy (CHC) is the Senior Chaplain in the Navy, the Head of the U.S. Navy Chaplain Corps, and the Director of Religious Ministry Support for the Department of the Navy.[1] He or she advises the Commandant of the Marine Corps, the Chief of Naval Operations, and the Commandant of the Coast Guard "on all matters pertaining to religion within the Navy, United States Marine Corps, and United States Coast Guard."[2]

Chief of Chaplains of the
United States Navy
Seal of the United States Navy Chaplain Corps.svg
Brent W. Scott (2).jpg
RADM Brent W. Scott

since July 23, 2018
FormationNovember 5, 1917
First holderCAPT John B. Frazier
WebsiteOfficial Website
House Chaplain James Shera Montgomery and Speaker William Bankhead welcome Navy Chief of Chaplains Edward A. Duff, the first Navy chaplain in 117 years (since 1820) to open a House session as guest chaplain, March 25, 1937

The position was created in 1917 to "provide a system of appointing qualified and professional chaplains that meet the needs of the Navy".[3][4] The current CCHN is Rear Admiral Brent W. Scott. The previous CCHN was Rear Adm. Margaret G. Kibben, the first woman to hold this office.

U.S. Navy Chiefs of ChaplainsEdit

Name Photo Term began Term ended
1. CAPT John B. Frazier   November 5, 1917 November 1921
2. CAPT Evan W. Scott   November 1921 July 1926
3. CAPT Curtis H. Dickins   July 1926 July 1929
4. CAPT Sidney K. Evans   July 1929 July 1935
5. CAPT Edward A. Duff   July 1935 July 1937
6. CAPT Robert D. Workman   July 1937 July 1945
7. RADM William N. Thomas July 1945 September 1949
8. RADM Stanton W. Salisbury   September 1949 February 1953
9. RADM Edward B. Harp, Jr.   February 1953 June 1958
10. RADM George A. Rosso   June 1958 July 1963
11. RADM J. Floyd Dreith   July 1963 July 1965
12. RADM James W. Kelly   July 1965 July 1970
13. RADM Francis L. Garrett   July 1970 July 1975
14. RADM John J. O'Connor   July 1975 May 1979
15. RADM Ross H. Trower   May 1979 August 1983
16. RADM Neil M. Stevenson[5]   August 1983 August 1985
17. RADM John R. McNamara   August 1985 June 1988
18. RADM Alvin B. Koeneman   June 1988 August 1991
19. RADM David E. White   August 1991 August 1994
20. RADM Donald K. Muchow   August 1994 August 1997
21. RADM A. Byron Holderby, Jr.   August 1997 August 2000
22. RADM Barry C. Black[6]   August 2000 August 15, 2003
23. RADM Louis V. Iasiello   August 16, 2003 June 22, 2006
24. RADM Robert F. Burt   June 23, 2006 August 26, 2010
25. RADM Mark L. Tidd   August 27, 2010 August 1, 2014
26. RADM Margaret G. Kibben   August 2, 2014 July 22, 2018
27. RADM Brent W. Scott   July 23, 2018 Incumbent

Chief of Chaplains hallwayEdit

Chaplains Trower, Stevenson, Koeneman, White, and Black at the dedication of the Chief of Chaplains Hallway

A hallway to honor former Chiefs of Navy Chaplain Corps was dedicated at the Navy Annex, in Arlington, Va., in 2004. Five former Chiefs of Chaplains were present at the dedication ceremony, including Barry C. Black, Alvin B. Koeneman, Neil M. Stevenson, Ross H. Trower, and David F. White.[7]

See alsoEdit


  1. ^ SECNAVINST 1730.1B Archived 2012-03-17 at the Wayback Machine, retrieved May 13, 2011.
  2. ^ OPNAVINST 1730.1D Archived 2011-08-14 at the Wayback Machine, retrieved May 12, 2011.
  3. ^ Navy Chiefs of Chaplains Roster List. Retrieved July 21, 2010.
  4. ^ "Ceremony Establishes Naval Chaplains School", (USN official website), 4/17/2007. By Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class (SW/AW) John Osborne, Naval Personnel Development Command Public Affairs. Retrieved 2010-08-18.
  5. ^ Stevenson died November 21, 2009, in Williamsburg, Va. He was deputy chief of chaplains from 1980 to 1983. "Former Navy Chief of Chaplains Dies", (USN official website), 11/25/2009. By Capt. Greg Caiazzo, Chaplain Corps Public Affairs. Retrieved 2009-12-03.
  6. ^ He is currently serving as Chaplain of the United States Senate. "Barry C. Black - Chaplain". United States Senate website. Retrieved 2010-08-18.
  7. ^ Navy News Service – Eye on the Fleet, (USN official website), April 26, 2004. Retrieved 2009-12-03.