Brooke Valentine

Kanesha Nichole Brookes[1][2] (born October 5, 1984),[3] better known by her stage name Brooke Valentine, is an American singer, actress, and model. Her single "Girlfight" peaked on U.S. music charts in 2005, paving the way for her debut album Chain Letter released via Subliminal Entertainment imprint on Virgin Records and went on to sell more than 290,000 units worldwide. After a first attempt at a comeback, Brooke officially returned to the spotlight in 2012 with two singles "Forever" and the Adult R&B Top 40 hit "Don't Wanna Be In Love".

Brooke Valentine
Valentine performing in March 2005.
Valentine performing in March 2005.
Background information
Born (1984-10-05) October 5, 1984 (age 36)
Houston, Texas, U.S.
OriginLos Angeles, California, U.S.
GenresR&B, pop, hip hop, crunk
Occupation(s)Singer, songwriter, model, actress
Years active2004–present
LabelsSubliminal Entertainment, WWE Music Group, Virgin Records, Capitol Music Group, Columbia Records
Associated actsLil Jon, Big Boi, Beenie Man


1984–2004: Early life and career beginnings

Valentine was born in Houston, Texas[4] She started her musical career as a member of the female group Best Kept Secret. To pursue a solo career, she moved to Los Angeles, California with producer and Subliminal Entertainment CEO Deja the Great and signed to Virgin Records.[3]

2004-06: Chain Letter

Brooke Valentine made her debut with the hit single, "Girlfight", which featured Lil Jon and Big Boi, which peaked at #23 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #13 on the R&B chart. It succeeded internationally, peaking in the Top 50 in Australia and Ireland, and Top 40 in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. She then released her debut album Chain Letter in 2005[4] which debuted at #16 on the US Billboard 200 and #3 on the U.S. Billboard Top R&B/Hip Hop Albums charts.[5] A follow-up single "Long as You Come Home" peaked at #71 on the US R&B/Hip-Hop chart, while a third (the ballad "Covergirl") was released digitally but not sent to radio.

Later that year, collaborated with rappers Fabolous and Yo Yo on the single "Boogie Oogie Oogie" for the Roll Bounce soundtrack.[6]

2006–09: Physical Education

In 2006, Valentine set work on her second studio album, Physical Education.[7] She released the set's lead single "D-Girl" featuring Pimp C that year, peaking at #92 on the Billboard R&B/Hip Hop Singles chart.[8] A follow-up single "Pimped Out" featuring Dem Franchize Boyz was released but failed to catch on.

Eventually, the Physical Education project was put on hold due to Virgin Records’ merger with Capitol Records in 2008. Subliminal Entertainment CEO Deja the Great then acquired the masters and the contract rights from Virgin Records, and material from the project was released independently on the Physical Education Mixtape in 2009.[9][10]

She later said in an interview that the project was a "paper album" with Virgin, as it was a forced effort due to her being on the label's timeline for a new release and being set up with all the "hot" producers at the time. In addition to not turning in the complete album to the label, Valentine was also dealing with the death of her cousin during the "D-Girl" single release, all of which added to the album not being initially released.[11]

2010–2013: Forever / Love Letters EP

In a 2010 interview, Valentine said that she took a break and has been writing music for other artists, and was now working on new material.[12]

That year, she also gave birth to her first child, a son named London. In 2012, she did an interview with Essence Magazine discussing raising her son's cerebral palsy diagnosis.[13] She also penned an open letter to him with Ebony Magazine, calling him her "tiny hero."[14]

Adding to her stage name the alias B. Valentine, she released a music video for the song "Insanity" in January 2012, shot entirely on an Apple iPad and directed by Subliminal CEO Deja the Great. She announced a new album titled Forever set for release later in the year, led by a new single "Forever" which premiered on February 14, 2012. "Rub It In" (a collaboration with Tyrese) was announced as the set's second single[15] and released as a digital single, but the album was later pushed back in lieu of a new project.

In 2013, she released a new EP titled Love Letters which garnered a positive response.[16] A single from the set, "Don't Wanna Be In Love" was released and peaked at #29 on the Billboard Adult R&B chart, marking her first chart appearance in six years.

2014-present: New projects and "Love & Hip-Hop"

In 2014, she filmed scenes for the L.A.-spin off cast of VH1's hit reality series Love & Hip Hop,[17] but ultimately did not make the cut. Since then, she's been working on her second studio album.

In 2016, she released a series of new digital singles, with "Grow Up" on April 29, "#CRAIG" (produced by Yonni)[18] on July 2, and "Games" on October 5.[19]

In June 2017, it was confirmed she will appear on the new season of VH1's popular series Love & Hip Hop: Hollywood alongside newcomers Keyshia Cole and Chanel West Coast.[20] She was promoted to a series regular on season five.[21]


  • Chain Letter (2005)
  • Physical Education – Mixtape (2009)
  • Love Letters – EP (2013)


  1. ^ Penn, Charli (May 13, 2012). "Singer Brooke Valentine Opens Up About Parenting A Special Needs Child". Essence. Retrieved December 11, 2014.
  2. ^ Gilkes, Kimberly (January 14, 2014). "Brooke Valentine Rumored to Join "Love and Hip Hop: L.A." Cast". Hip Hop Enquirer. Retrieved December 11, 2014.
  3. ^ a b Rashbaum, Alyssa. "Brooke Valentine". You Hear It First. MTV News. Archived from the original on 2012-11-04.
  4. ^ a b Kellman, Andy. "Brooke Valentine > Biography". AllMusic. Retrieved May 16, 2010.
  5. ^ "Brooke Valentine > Charts & Awards > Billboard Albums". AllMusic. Retrieved May 16, 2010.
  6. ^ "For The Record: Quick News On Fiona Apple And Jon Brion, Sean Paul, Brooke Valentine, ncubus, Tommy Lee & More". MTV News. August 22, 2005. Retrieved May 16, 2010.
  7. ^ Crowder, Ashley (July 27, 2006). "Brooke Valentine Gets Physical With Tyrese, Others On 'Sultry' New LP". MTV News. Retrieved May 16, 2010.
  8. ^ "R&B/Hip-Hop Songs: Biggest Jump". Billboard. June 17, 2006. Retrieved May 16, 2010.
  9. ^ "Brooke Valentine Returns With 'Physical Education'". 6 April 2009. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  10. ^ "Physical Education Mixtape Album by Brooke Valentine". Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  11. ^ "Interview: With The Fight Now Over, Brooke Valentine Looks To Create "Ride Or Cry" Music That Lasts Forever". 12 April 2012. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  12. ^ Welcome 2 NYC -Lifestyle E News Sports & Reviews. "Brooke Valentine talks coming back in 2011 love for New York with Welcome2nyctv's Ap 1nabillion". YouTube. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  13. ^ "Singer Brooke Valentine Opens Up About Parenting A Special Needs Child". Essence. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  14. ^ "Dear London: My Most Perfect Special Needs Child • EBONY". EBONY. 22 July 2016. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  15. ^ "New Music: Brooke Valentine f/ Tyrese – 'Rub It In'". Rap-Up. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  16. ^ "BET Her". Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  17. ^ "Brooke Valentine Is Joining 'Love & Hip-Hop: L.A.'". Popdust. 11 January 2014. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  18. ^ "New Music: Brooke Valentine - Craig". 5 July 2016. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  19. ^ "Games - Single by Brooke Valentine". Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  20. ^ "Welcome To The Club: Keyshia Cole, Brooke Valentine Joining 'Love & Hip Hop: Hollywood'". Vibe. 19 June 2017. Retrieved 5 December 2018.
  21. ^ Janice Williams (23 July 2018). "Get the first look at 'Love & Hip Hop Hollywood' Season 5 drama". Retrieved 5 December 2018.

External links