Angel (Natasha Bedingfield song)

"Angel" is a song by English singer-songwriter Natasha Bedingfield for her second North American album Pocketful of Sunshine (2007). It was released as the album's third single in North America on 11 August 2008. The song was produced by Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins, hence the "Darkchild forever" line at the beginning of the song, he also sings the chorus.

Natasha Bedingfield - Angel.png
Single by Natasha Bedingfield
from the album Pocketful of Sunshine
Released11 August 2008
Natasha Bedingfield singles chronology
"Bruised Water"
Music video
"Angel" on YouTube

The song is written in the key of B minor and set in 4
time. Bedingfield's vocals range from F3 to C5. It utilizes a prominent spelling out of the word 'angel' as its hook. In the song, Bedingfield sings of being a guardian angel of sorts for her companion, stating in the chorus, "I'll be your A-N-G-E-L." On 18 September 2008 she performed the song live on America's Got Talent. This song is featured in the rhythmic, singing video game Boogie Superstar, but only as the Moto Blanco Club Remix and as an online exclusive song.

Critical receptionEdit

Chris Williams of Billboard praised "Angel", noting that it takes on "a decidedly more urban slant", and saying, "Vocally, Bedingfield has no difficulty adjusting to the production, confidently delivering with sass and swagger." He also thought the track would do well, claiming, "With angelic harmonies throughout, a catchy chorus with a fun spell-out of "a-n-g-e-l" and a sing-rap bridge, Bedingfield is on her way again to the airwaves' high heavens."[2]

Chart performanceEdit

"Angel" debuted on the Billboard Hot 100 at #93, the chart week of 4 October 2008. It has debuted on the Pop 100 at #91, and has climbed to #35. Since its release date it has been one of the most added tracks at U.S. Mainstream Top 40 radio. It has already climbed to #25 on BDS CHR/Top 40 chart.[3] The song debuted at #96 on the Canadian Hot 100 and peaked at #41.[4]

Music videoEdit

Phil Griffin shot the music video for the song.[5] The video features Bedingfield in several different rooms and outfits, with multiple versions of her suddenly appearing and then disappearing. The music video uses the Radio Edit of the song which alters the bridge: the lyrics "I wish somebody would disrespect my man, they gon' have to come see me. I go hard for my baby..." being changed to "if someone ever should disrespect my love, they gon' have to come see me. I fight hard for my baby..."


Chart (2008) Peak
Brazilian Singles Chart (ABPD)[6] 51
Canada (Canadian Hot 100)[7] 41
Canada CHR/Top 40 (Billboard)[8] 35
Canada Hot AC (Billboard)[9] 25
US Billboard Hot 100[10] 63
US Mainstream Top 40 (Billboard)[11] 24
US Dance Club Songs (Billboard)[12] 1
US Pop 100 (Billboard)[13] 35


  1. ^ "Angel". AllMusic. Retrieved 12 May 2012.
  2. ^ Williams, Chris. "Angel Review". Billboard. Archived from the original on 11 September 2008. Retrieved 11 September 2008.
  3. ^ "Weekly Chart Highlights". Archived from the original on 28 August 2008. Retrieved 28 August 2008.
  4. ^ "Canadian Hot 100". Billboard. 31 December 2011. Retrieved 4 January 2012.
  5. ^ "BOOKED: Natasha Bedingfield — Phil Griffin, director". Archived from the original on 28 August 2008. Retrieved 28 August 2008.
  6. ^ "Brazil" (PDF). ABPD. 6 October 2001. Retrieved 1 April 2014.
  7. ^ "Natasha Bedingfield Chart History (Canadian Hot 100)". Billboard. Retrieved 24 June 2020.
  8. ^ "Natasha Bedingfield Chart History (Canada CHR/Top 40)". Billboard. Retrieved 24 June 2020.
  9. ^ "Natasha Bedingfield Chart History (Canada Hot AC)". Billboard. Retrieved 24 June 2020.
  10. ^ "Natasha Bedingfield Chart History (Hot 100)". Billboard.
  11. ^ "Natasha Bedingfield Chart History (Pop Songs)". Billboard.
  12. ^ "Natasha Bedingfield Chart History (Dance Club Songs)". Billboard.
  13. ^ "Artist Search for "natasha bedingfield"".

External linksEdit